Australia Day honours for AuSI Associates and Friends

Australia Day honours for AuSI Associates and Friends
Image credit: Barney Moss, via Flickr (open-sourced)
Friday 7 February 2020

On 26 January 2020, the Governor-General of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), announced the 2020 Australia Day Honours List.

A number of extraordinary researchers from The Australian National University (ANU) have been included in this year's Australia Day Honours list, including some of our very own Australian Studies Institute (AuSI) associates and friends, as follows:

Professor Rae Frances, Dean of the College of Arts and Social Sciences and Professor of History at ANU, was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for ‘significant service to history studies as a teacher, researcher and author’. Professor Frances has been an instrumental supporter of AuSI with research interests including Australian history. She is also a committee member of the Indian Association for the Study of Australia (Eastern Region), alongside AuSI Director Professor Paul Pickering.

Dr Adele Chynoweth, Lecturer at the Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies, in the Research School of Humanities and the Arts, ANU, was awarded an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for ‘service to public history’. Dr Chynoweth's current research interests include analysis of how museums engage with vulnerable people, represent narratives of trauma, and respond to Australian working and under class cultures. AuSI was pleased to co-host a series of events Professional Ethics and the ‘Caring’ Museum convened by Dr Chynoweth in 2019.

We’d also like to acknowledge the recognition of Dr Mathew Trinca, Director of the National Museum of Australia, who was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for ‘significant service to the museums and galleries sector’. Dr Trinca has research interests in the social and cultural relationships between Britain and Australia, and in museological theory and practice. AuSI is pleased to partner with Dr Trinca, and the National Museum of Australia on The First Eight Project – one of AuSI’s flagship projects.

We extend our congratulations to Professor Frances, Dr Chynoweth and Dr Trinca, as well as all of those honoured in the 2020 Australia Day Honour’s List. We particularly celebrate the current and former ANU staff members recognised.

View the 2020 Recipients (ANU current and former staff) of Australia Day Honours here »

View the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia full Australia Day Honours List here »


Updated:  7 February 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications