Eric Fry Research Grant 2020: Applications Open

Eric Fry Research Grant 2020: Applications Open
Image of Noel Butlin Archives Centre, ANU via Canberra Mueseum + Gallery
Wednesday 26 February 2020

The Canberra Region Branch of the Australian Society for the Study of Labour History (ASSLH) and the Australian Studies Institute (AuSI) at the Australian National University invite students doing an honours or postgraduate thesis of at least 10,000 words to apply for a $1,000 grant to do research at the Noel Butlin Archives Centre (NBAC) based at ANU in Canberra.

The NBAC is the largest non-government archives in Australia, and holds an unrivalled collection of trade union and business records, along with the personal papers of many left wing and labour movement activists.

The Eric Fry Labour History Research Grant was established in 2004 to assist promising students with an interest in labour or social history to overcome the financial obstacles to doing research in Canberra. The grant honours the memory of Dr Eric Fry (1921-2007) who, together with Prof Robin Gollan (1917-2007), founded the ASSLH in 1961 and was its first Vice-President and journal editor.

One grant is awarded each year, for a lump sum of $1,000 to assist with fares to Canberra, accommodation and other research expenses. Students who reside in Canberra and the surrounding region are also eligible to apply.

AuSI is proud to sponsor the Eric Fry Research Grant annually.

Applications for the 2020 Eric Fry Research Grant are now open, and close on 31 March 2020. For details on how to apply, please see the Eric Fry Research Grant criteria 2020 »

Previous scholarship holders

2019 Rhys Williams, Australian National University, British socialist thought on Australia 1880-1914

2018  Jack Crawford, Adelaide University,  the 1894 shearers strike in NSW.

2017 Geraldine Fela,  Australian National University, the response of the Australian Nurses Federation to the AIDS crisis of the 1980s

2015 Andrew DeMayo, University of Notre Dame Australia, use of visual propaganda by the US and Australian IWW from 1905-18.

2014 Liam Byrne, University of Melbourne, Labor at war; the political culture of the Victorian Branch of the Australian Labor Party, 1914-1921.

2013 Brendan McGloin, Victoria University, ‘The factory occupation’

2012 Alexis Vassiley, University of Western Australia, ‘Trade union support for Aboriginal rights during the Noonkanbah dispute, 1979-80’

2011 Scott Stephenson, Australian National University, ‘The relationship between the Australian Workers’ Union and Lang Labor between the two world wars’

2010 Lian Jenvey, University of Sydney, ‘Nationalism and the Australian labour movement during World War II’

2007 Graham Burke, Australian National University, ‘Australian trade union policy on Aboriginal issues, post-World War II’

2005 William Newland, University of Melbourne, ‘Archbishop Mannix and the Great Depression’


Updated:  26 February 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications