ANU and CSO Virtual Orchestra launches first performance - Arthur Benjamin's Jamaican Rumba

ANU and CSO Virtual Orchestra launches first performance - Arthur Benjamin's Jamaican Rumba
Monday 6 July 2020

The Virtual Orchestra Community Special series has commenced with a performance of Arthur Benjamin's Jamaican Rumba.

Musicians from the ANU Orchestra and Canberra Symphony Orchestra joined community musicians to perform together virtually. Each musician recorded their section individually, with the performances then brought together through video production and audio engineering by School of Music Technical Officers.

The Virtual Orchestra is an initiative of the Canberra Symphony Orchestra and the ANU School of Music, to ensure professional development opportunities for students during COVID-19. The initiative is also a great way to provide an enhanced virtual performance for CSO and ANU music fans, freely available online.

Watch the performance below.

Chief Conductor and Artistic Director: Dr Nicholas Milton AM
Concertmaster: Kirsten Williams

Audio Engineering: Craig Greening
Video Production: Matthew Barnes


VIOLINS Kirsten Williams (P), Doreen Cummings (P), Lucy Macourt, Erin Patrick, Dan Russell, Pip Thompson, Tim Wickham, Michelle Higgs, Lauren Davis
VIOLA Lucy Carrigy-Ryan (AP), Iska Sampson
CELLO Patrick Suthers (P), Samuel Payne
DOUBLE BASS Max McBride (P), Kyle Ramsay-Daniel, Isabella Brown
FLUTE Teresa Rabe (P)
OBOE Megan Pampling (P)
CLARINETS Alan Vivian (P), Benn Sutcliffe
BASSOON Kristen Sutcliffe (P)
SAXOPHONE Benn Sutcliffe (P)
FRENCH HORNS Dianna Gaetjens (P)
TRUMPET Justin Lingard (P)
TIMPANI Louis Sharpe (AP)
PERCUSSION Veronica Bailey (P)
PIANO Stephanie Neeman (AP)

ANU Orchestra

VIOLINS Mia Hughes, Sarah Furman, Tanya Boag, Shirahni Mudaliar
CELLO Ariel Chou
CLARINET Milan Kolundzija

Community Musicians 

VIOLINS Nichola Worrall, Lara Baker-Finch, Anastasia Eldon-Roberts, Rachel Van Der Veen, Vivianne Anthrak
FLUTE Natalie Iles-Buchbach, Katrine Ross, Fiona Benton, Graham Thomson, Jenni Pittock
OBOE Callum Bennett, Mary Harwood
CLARINET Alexandra Thomson
TRUMPETS David Mahon, Michael Butler, Robin Winterflood

(P) = Principal, (AP) = Acting Principal



Updated:  6 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications